Forget/Remove a Network Instructions

iPhone or iPad

1. Go to Settings > Wi-Fi.

2. Tap next to the Wi-Fi network that you want your device to forget.

3. Tap Forget This Network, then tap Forget to confirm.

 

iMac

1. Choose Apple menu > System Preferences, then click Network.

2. Select Wi-Fi in the list on the left.

3. Click the Advanced button.

4. The Wi-Fi pane shows a Preferred Networks list. Select the Wi-Fi network that you want your Mac to forget.

5. Click the remove button (–) beneath the list. If you are asked to confirm, click Remove.

6. Click OK.

7. Click Apply.

Windows 7

1. Open Network and Sharing Center.

2. Select Manage wireless networks on the left panel.

3. Right-click the network that is not connecting properly or the network to remove and select Remove network.

 

Windows 8.1

1. Click the wireless icon in the system tray.

2. Right-click the wireless network to remove.

3. Click Forget this network.

 

Windows 10

1. Click the Network icon on the lower right corner of the screen.

2. Click Network & Internet settings.

3. Click Wi-Fi and then click Manage known networks.

4. Click the network to remove or delete under the Manage known networks list, then click Forget.

 

Android

1. Open your Android's Settings app. The Settings icon looks like a gray gear or wrench icon on most Android devices.
 

2. Find the Wireless & Networks heading. This section will be at the top of your Settings menu.
     Depending on your device model and current software, you might have to tap a Connections tab at the top of your screen.

3. Tap Wi-Fi under Wireless & Networks.
 

4. Slide the Wi-Fi switch to On position. It is in the upper-right corner of your screen. You will now see a list of all available Wi-Fi networks around you.
 

5. Tap and hold on the network you want to forget. It will open a pop-up window with network options.

Depending on your device and software, you might need to tap on the network instead of tapping and holding.

6. Tap Forget network or Forget in the pop-up. Your device will disconnect from this network and stop connecting to it automatically.

If you want to connect to the same Wi-Fi network again in the future, you might have to enter a security password.

Chromebook


Your Chromebook saves network information when you connect to a network. To delete that info:

1. Sign in to the Chromebook with the account designated as the owner.

2. At the bottom right, select the time.

3. Select Settings.

4. In the "Network" section, select Wi-Fi.

5. Select Known networks.

6. Find the network you want to forget, then select More and Forget.

 

 

Was this helpful?
0 reviews

Details

Article ID: 115158
Created
Mon 8/31/20 5:10 PM
Modified
Thu 9/10/20 11:04 AM