Setting Default Outlook Calendar Permissions

By default, your calendar can be viewed and provides free/busy information to all other Saint Xavier University employees. There are four basic permissions levels that can be chosen for campus-wide calendaring or individual calendaring. There are other more advanced permissions, but this article focuses on the main four basic permissions. They are below. 

None

No data is presented. This user will need to contact you to get any information.

Free/Busy time

View only start/end date/time

Free/Busy time, subject, and location

View only start/end date/time, subject, and location (except for "private" - which only allows free/busy)

Reviewer

View full details of all events (except for "private" - which only allows free/busy) - start/end date/time, subject, location, description, attendees, and attachments.

Follow the below steps to update and/or change calendar permissions based on your needs: 

  1. Start Outlook.
  2. Navigate to your calendar by clicking on the Calendar tab in the lower left hand corner of your Outlook 2010/2013/2016 client.
  1. At the calendar screen, select your default calendar, "Calendar":
  1. Right-click on the calendar and then click on the "Properties" field. This will open a dialog box that gives you further choices:
  1. Select the "Permissions" tab at the top of the dialog box that opens. The 'Calendar Properties' screen will be displayed:

The Default permissions level will be "Free/Busy time". When set to this value, this setting allows others to view whether you are free or busy, but does not allow others to see what you are doing during that time, nor with whom you are meeting.

  1. Make sure Default user is selected and use the options within the 'Read' box to change the desired default permissions for your calendar. To fully restrict others from seeing your calendar, set the "Read" permission level to "None". This setting will only restrict them from viewing your availability, they will still be able to invite you to a meeting. If you wish others to have greater access to your calendar, set read permissions to "Full Details" or "Free/Busy time, subject, location".
  2. When you are done setting your permissions, click on "Apply" and then click on "OK" to exit the Calendar Properties dialog box.
Was this helpful?
0 reviews

Details

Article ID: 34659
Created
Wed 8/2/17 9:54 AM
Modified
Wed 11/15/17 4:07 PM

Files (1)